Catastrophes


 

I liked a lot the beautiful poem “Catastrofi” by Marina Raccanelli. When I talked about it with my dear friend Leda, she had the idea to translate the poem into English. We did it and Marina liked our work and gave us the permission to post it here.
Well, I was impressed because the tranlsation was very easy and also a first automatic translation made by Google had an interesting result: when I try to tralslate my own stuffs into Italian or into English, Google does not work well and to respect rhytms and sound (as far it is possible)  a lot of work needs.
That consideration is probably stricly connected with the nice style of Marina: she writes about very important matters but in way simple, immediate, very easy to understand (even Google understands her!). She writes using a lovely music but her rhytm is without any strict cage of metric. On the contrary, my own style is complicated, convoluted, rigidly trapped in the cage of decasyllables; the risult is the contrast between the beautiful poems of Marina and my poor attempts to do something.
Anyway, this is the poem of Marina, translated into English by Leda and me:

 

Catastrophes

by Marina Raccanelli

There is someone who shouts in the silence
and the great house full of echoes
now is empty:
the eraser of time bleached white
peevish cheerful voices, sounds sung
chattering children and hoarse old man

I do not know where they went
and who I am, where I live

beyond the dark screen
this is the no man’s land
place of everything, home of anything –
I do not understand the languages of the crowds
nor their gestures, nor clothes, tattoos

and they swarm in absurd rituals –
while I wait for the anguish of the minutes
I am my land, I am nobody
and I go on along this long way
cut off, I don’t know for how long
from the deafening catastrophes

 

Translation by LedaEuropa and Judy Barton
5 comments on “Catastrophes

  1. Simona says:

    Beautiful poem, complimenti a Marina.

    Like

  2. marinaraccanelli says:

    Ringrazio di cuore Judy e Leda per il loro apprezzamento e per la bellissima traduzione!
    Molto interessanti le osservazioni introduttive;vorrei dire a Judy che non disprezzi così i suoi “poveri tentativi , e che non so proprio se sia una buona cosa che Google mi capisca!
    Un caro saluto a tutte e due ☺

    Like

  3. […] And finally, from someone who had not been involved in the conversation, the suggestion that the laughter was going to cause them to “Puma pants — and that would be a catastrophe“ […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

